- Fully legal
Get your medical card online in minutes!Get started
8Max 4 mature
8Max 4 mature
Once you have registered with Leafwell and been approved by one of our medical marijuana doctors online, apply to the state medical marijuana program. Receive your MMJ card and start shopping for your medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Table of contents
Montana has legalized both medical marijuana and adult use of cannabis.
Measure I 148, the Montana Medical Marijuana Act or the Montana Medical Marijuana Allowance Initiative.
Senate Bill 423, passed by the 2011 Legislature, repeals I-148 and enacts a new medical marijuana program, which includes: permitting patients to grow marijuana or designate a provider; limiting each marijuana provider to three patients; prohibiting marijuana providers from accepting anything of value in exchange for services or products; granting local governments authority to regulate marijuana providers; establishing specific standards for demonstrating chronic pain; and reviewing the practices of doctors who certify marijuana use for 25 or more patients in 12 months.
Senate Bill 333 (SB 333) also imposes a 4% tax on medical marijuana beginning July 1, 2017 and decreases to 2% beginning July 1, 2018.
Some towns and cities, like Billings, have banned or attempted to ban medical marijuana dispensaries in their jurisdictions. These bans have not always proven successful.
The Montana law lists the following medical conditions as qualifiers for a medical cannabis card:
With Leafwell, you can get your Montana Medical Marijuana Card in 4 simple steps:
Montana does not have a caregiver program per se, as it was replaced by the Provider/Marijuana Infused Products Provider (MIPP) program. This means that, when it comes to Montana’s medical marijuana program, someone who might be the child’s caregiver (e.g., the parent or legal guardian) would be known as a “provider.” You can find the Montana Provider Application form here. Physicians also need to fill out a physician statement for minors if they certify someone under 18 years old. Those with criminal convictions may not be eligible for Montana’s Provider Program.
It is a requirement for patients to register with the Montana Medical Marijuana Program (the Complia health portal) and the DPHSS. The state maintains a confidential list of persons with patient I.D. cards. Only the Montana department of health and human services and state and local law enforcement agencies may access the list. Law enforcement may only access the list to verify a person’s patient status.
We also offer renewal services from $149. If your MMJ Card is due to expire, get in touch with Leafwell today and book your appointment to obtain your certificate.
Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.
Yes, telemedicine is legal in Montana, and you can get certified for cannabis online.
1 oz. Usable cannabis flower, 8-gram concentrate for both medical and recreational cannabis users.
Up to 4 mature and four immature plants if the patient has not elected a dispensary provider. A maximum of eight mature and eight immature plants per household. Montana residents aged 21 and older to grow no more than four marijuana plants and four seedlings for personal use in their residence, as long as the plants are within an enclosed area with a lock and beyond public view.
Montana recognizes other states’ medical cannabis programs and medical marijuana cards. Montana has reciprocity.
A Montana medical cannabis card is recognized by other states with medical marijuana reciprocity laws.
The following states accept or recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards:
However, this does not always mean you can purchase cannabis at a medical marijuana dispensary (non-medical adult use is acceptable) – just that the state’s medical marijuana laws protect you to some extent. It is wise to call the dispensary ahead if you are a medical cannabis patient from another state and intend to purchase medical marijuana.
The qualifying condition usually has to match between states, so if your qualifying condition is accepted in one state and not your visiting state, your recommendation is not necessarily valid. You are also accountable to the visiting state’s medical marijuana laws, not the state that issued your card.
The following states accept out-of-state applications, allowing visiting patient application to use medical cannabis for the duration of their stay:
Although employers can still have workplace drug tests, recent laws passed, namely House Bill 655 (effective July 1, 2021) and amendments to the existing I-190, suggest that there may be some protections for medical marijuana patients in the future, protecting off-work use. Past cases have allowed employers to terminate employees even for legal, off-site use, but this is no longer the case.
Employers may still prohibit employees from possessing or consuming cannabis at the workplace. Employers may also take adverse action against employees if their off-duty marijuana use:
Medical cannabis in Montana must be tested for cannabinoid content, pesticides, mycotoxins, pollutants, and mold. Third-party testing is mandatory but self-policed.
In all states with a medical marijuana program, the only way to purchase medicinal cannabis products is via a legally-licensed dispensary or pharmacy or another legally designated space to buy cannabis. Only those with a legal license to sell cannabis can do so.
All states with a medical marijuana program have some restrictions on where a person can legally use cannabis. Near schools, nurseries, parks, or other places where children are expected to be, using cannabis is illegal. Use of cannabis on or in federal land or buildings, hospitals, or other such healthcare space is also illegal. Private members’ clubs and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion.
The safest place to use medical cannabis is in the safety of your own home. It is wise to use common sense, generally keep consumption out of public view, and utilize discreet consumption methods wherever possible.